The Thames Goldfield was administered from the Gold Commissioner James Mckay's tent, and then in a more permanent office at Shortland, presided over by the Assistant Commissioner of the Goldfield of Thames, Mr Allen Baillie. A smaller office at Coromandel was opened later. This database is an index to original records of people and companies mining in New Zealand during the period 1861 to 1872.
Visitors can discover if their ancestor was part of the 1867-1872 gold rush to Thames. They will also find out exact dates and the location of the claim. It will certainly enhance their visit to Thames to know this in advance.
This is a free online database of over 30,000 Thames goldminers.